Skip to main content

Chinese New Year

We will be learning what Chinesw New Years is and why it is celebrated. 

The New Year, also known as the Lunar New Year or the Spring Festival, is marked by the lunisolar Chinese calendar. This means the date changes every year, but mostly falls between 21 January and 20 February in the Gregorian calendar. Festivities usually start the day before the New Year and continue until the Lantern Festival, celebrated on the 15th day of the new year.
This year will welcome in the year of the monkey, part of an ancient tradition in which the Chinese zodiac attaches animal signs to each lunar year in a cycle of 12 years. The Chinese zodiac is separated into 12 blocks, each of which have a time-length of one year instead of one month like the western equivalent. The monkey is the ninth animal in the cycle, which will not take place again until 2028. Next year will mark the year of the rooster.